Force.com Quick Login As Extension

This Google Chrome extension makes it easy to login as another user for the current page being viewed.

Chrome Store Web Link

Quick Login As Extension

2015 Update!

This extension has started to receive updates and is listed in the chrome store again.  Have an issue or a great idea for this extension? Visit the github project URL below and create an Issue or contribute to it.

https://github.com/kpeterson85/Salesforce-Quick-Login-Chrome-Extension

Main Points

  • Gives a popup of the users listed on the user listing page so you can select to login as a different user on any page.
  • When a user is selected, it logs you in as that user and keeps you on the page you were viewing.
  • When you log out, it will take you back to the page you were originally on when you logged in as the other user.

 Additional Points

  • Above the user list in the popup, the “View” dropdown is available so you can change to another view from the user listing page.
  • Only the first 4 columns from the user listing table are shown by default (including the login column) since the popup has a limited width. A “Show All Columns” button is available if you can’t identify the user you need by the default columns shown.
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. davidpcook

     /  April 12, 2012

    Hi great tool will save me loads of time, works in the sandbox (https://cs13.salesforce.com/) however does not work in the production org (https://emea.salesforce.com/). Any chance you could enable emea orgs for the next release? keep up the good work!

    Reply
    • Kyle Peterson

       /  April 12, 2012

      I was not familiar with that subdomain, what is it used for? I can definitely add it.

      Do you know of any other instance urls besides na#, cs#, custom domains, and emea that should be added?

      Reply
      • davidpcook

         /  April 12, 2012

        the emea sd is for the European orgs (although I think the servers are still based in the us for the time being) Looking at https://trust.salesforce.com/trust/status/ it’s a little ambiguous as EU0 instance is emea sd whereas the other instance names are also the sd’s.

  2. Loïk

     /  August 1, 2012

    Hi !
    Really a great tool, but does not work in the production org (https://emea.salesforce.com/) /sandbox (https://cs13.salesforce.com/). Any chance you could help us ?
    Thks!

    Reply
    • Kyle Peterson

       /  August 4, 2012

      Strange, it should work for those. I made it to work with sandboxes from the beginning and someone else pointed out it didn’t work for emea so I updated it to work for that. What version do you have? Maybe try reinstalling it? Let me know if you still have issues.

      Reply
  3. Ernesto Ornelas

     /  December 4, 2012

    Hi Kyle,

    Great tool but I have a problem with the login option for each user, it doesn´t appear. I can see all my users but “Action” column is empty, I tried in Dev and Prduction and is the same case. Do you have any recomendation?

    Reply
    • When you go to the Manage Users page do you see the Login link next to the users there? If not then your user might not have permission to login as other users or users haven’t granted you access to login as them. You can also request Salesforce to turn on a feature allowing admins to login as anyone without having to be granted access.

      Reply
      • Ernesto Ornelas

         /  December 4, 2012

        I´m the administrator and I have access to login for some users, from Manage Users->Users works great but from extension I can see the Login link, I tried again in Production and Sandbox

      • That’s very strange. The extension does an ajax request for the users listing page so it should be showing exactly what you see when you go to the page manually. Send me an email if you want to troubleshoot further together.

  4. Kang, Soo Jin

     /  December 13, 2012

    Hello, I want to use this good tool. but I cant see “Login” button in Action task….do you know what is a solution?

    Reply
    • If you read my comments to Ernesto Ornelas does that help at all? Let me know if those don’t help and if you are still having problems.

      Reply
  5. Hey Kyle, sent you an email with some updates to the extension that I found useful. I stuck the code/changes in a github repo at https://github.com/tresni/Salesforce-Quick-Login-Chrome-Extension . If you have any questions, please let me know!

    Reply
  6. Charles Stevenson

     /  March 19, 2014

    Great tool, but caused immediate confusion when I went back to a success.salesforce.com tab to thank someone for telling me about it and it posted my message as the logged in end-user. I don’t know if there is anything you can do to prevent this ? Or just put a visual indicator to show that the current tab is being affected by the extension ?

    Reply
  7. Mathieu

     /  July 15, 2014

    Hello, I think your extension is pretty useful, nevertheless, I am stuck with the same problem described by Ernesto. The “action” column is empty, whereas i can see “loing as” when i go to the user setup. As I see there might be some problems with European orgs, mine is eu2.

    Reply
  8. Lucy Dean

     /  September 2, 2014

    Hi Kyle, I’ve used your “login as” extension for a couple of years… LOVE IT!!! However, suddenly the icon is not visible at the top of my chrome browser page. When I hover my mouse over the area where it used to be (and I’m in a SF org), there is a link to the appexchange. What do you think might be wrong? Thanks, Lucy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

